NFSPS logo

                                                                                                                                    2019 NFSPS Convention Attendance Fellowship Application
                                                                                                                        The application will download automatically, instructions are on the form




The National Federation of State Poetry Societies (NFSPS) is a non-profit organization, exclusively educational and literary. Its purpose is to recognize the importance of poetry with respect to national cultural heritage. It is dedicated solely to the furtherance of poetry on the national level and serves to unite poets in the bonds of fellowship and understanding.

The NFSPS sponsors fifty annual poetry contests with cash prizes totaling over $6,000, including a grand prize of $1,000. It also sponsors the Stevens Manuscript contest for a collection of poems by one poet, with a cash prize of $1,000 plus publication, the BlackBerry Peach Poetry Awards, with total cash prizes of  $1,750.00, plus publication, and the College Undergraduate Poetry competition, which awards two $500 prizes, plus publication.

Strophes is the national society's official newsletter. It is published quarterly with national news but also with state societies' news. It announces numerous contests and lists the national board members and state presidents. The summer issue provides names of judges and winners for the national contests.

Annual conventions are conducted for business, instruction, and fellowship. Poets who attend share poetry, ideas, and inspiration, which they carry home to their local organizations.

The Federation Library Collection is housed at Baylor University in Waco, Texas. In addition to the Encores (prize poem anthologies which contain winners of the national poetry contests), the collection includes books and materials provided by organizations and individuals.

The emblem of the Federation is the Athenian Greek coin insignia that appears on all NFSPS publications and has been incorporated into the design of the medal (see above) which is presented to NFSPS presidents at the end of their terms.

The members of the Federation are members of an NFSPS affiliated state organization. Any poet wishing to know the location of his or her state society may contact NFSPS for this information. Send a business-sized SASE to:

Julie Cummings
9428 Fallen Rock Road
Conifer, Colorado 80433

2018 ENCORE is now available here AMAZON


 Honorary Chancellor - David J. Rothman

Executive Board:
The Executive Board shall be comprised of all elected officers of the NFSPS and the immediate past president. This body shall serve as the governing body of NFSPS. [NFSPS Bylaws, Article VI-Executive Board, Section A.]

Elective Board

President/Membership: Publicity Chair, Electronic Media: Julie Cummings, 9428 Fallen Rock Road,
Conifer, CO 80433
1st Vice President/Strophes Editor, Electronic Media Assistant: Paul Ford, 10239 Hickory Point Dr
Sandy, UT 84092
2nd Vice President/Development Chair (Endowments/Sponsorships): Joseph Cavanaugh, 3722 Longford Cir. Ormond Beach, FL 32174
3rd Vice President/Special Awards Chair: Charmaine Pappas Donovan 18755 Tracside Road
Brainerd, MN 56401
4th Vice President: Steven Concert, 49 Kitchen Ave., Harveys Lake, PA 18618
Chancellor: Polly Opsahl, 7316 Huntington, Oscoda, MI 48750
1st Vice Chancellor/Poetry Day/Poetry Month Liaison Co-Chair: Shirley Blackwell, P. O. Box 1352,
Los Lunas, NM 87031
2nd Vice Chancellor Poetry Day/Poetry Month Liaison Co-Chair: JoAn Howerton, 2563 Twin Woods Cove, Memphis, TN 38134 -
Secretary/Assistant Treasurer: Linda Harris, 711 6th St. SE Altoona, IA 50009-1926-
Treasurer: Lucille Morgan Wilson, 2325 61st St., Des Moines, IA 50322
Immediate Past President/Presidential Advisors Chair: Eleanor Berry, 2614 N. Santiam Hwy., Lyons, OR 97358

Appointive Board

2017 BlackBerryPeach Prizes for Poetry (BBP3): Spoken and Heard Chair: Joseph Cavanaugh,
3722 Longford Cir. Ormond Beach, FL 32174
Board Liason to State Societies: Russell H. Strauss, 18 S. Rembert, St. Memphis, TN 38104
College Undergraduate Poetry Competition Chair: Steven Concert, 49 Kitchen Ave., Harveys Lake, PA 18618
Contest Chair: Carla Jordan, P. O. Box 2863 Evergreen, CO 80437-2863
Contest Sponsors/Brochure Chair: To be appointed (if you are interested in this appointment
please contact
Julie Cummings
Convention Coordinator:
Polly Opsahl, 7316 Huntington, Oscoda, MI 48750
Encore Editor:
Kathy Cotton: 1019 Applewood Lane, Anna, IL 62906
Historian: Nancy Baass, 408 E. Warren AVE., Victoria, TX 77901-4847  
Judges Chair: JoAn Howerton, 2563 Twin Woods Cove, Memphis, TN 38134
Legal Councelor/Parliamentarian:
Susan Stevens Chambers, 57310 166th Lane,
Good Thunder, MN 56037 -
Librarian: Catherine L'Herisson, 518 Grinnell Drive, Garland, TX 75043 -
Manningham Trust Competition Chair: Susan Stevens Chambers, 57310 166th Lane,
Good Thunder, MN 56037 -
Manningham Trust Advisor: Sam Wood, 1570 Auburn Way, Reno, NV 89502
Publicity Chair:
(Traditional Media, and Poetry Day/Poetry Month Liaison Co-Chair): Amy Jo Zook,
3520 State Rd. 56, Mechanicsburg, OH 43044
Special Events/ State Outreach:
Peter Stein, 5612 23rd Ave. S, Mineapolis, MN 55417
Stevens Manuscript Competition Chair:
Amanda Partridge, 4 Bowie Point, Sherwood, AR 72120
Strophes Associate Editor: Jim Lambert, 11617 Sherry Lynn Dr., Carbondale, IL 62901-0732
Youth Chair: Rosemerry Wahtola Trommer, P. O. Box 86, Placerville, CO 81430
Billy Pennington, P.O. Box 7842, Moore, OK 73153

Past NFSPS Presidents:

*Cecilia Parsons Miller, *Clinton Larson, *Robert D. West, *Edna Meudt, *Marvin Davis Winsett, *Max Golightly, *Hans Juergensen,
*Russell Ferrall, *Jean Jenkins, *Catherine Case Lubbe, *Glenn Swetman, *Carl Morton, *Alice Briley, *Wauneta Hackleman, *Jack Murphy, *Barbara Stevens, *Henrietta Kroah, *Jerry Robbins, Pat Stodghill, *Wanda Blaisdell,*Ralph Hammond, Amy Jo Zook, Susan S. Chambers, Clarence P. Socwell, Madelyn Eastlund, Budd Powell Mahan, Doris Stengel, Nancy Baass, Russell H. Strauss, Jeremy M. Downes, Eleanor Berry, and *James Barton

Past NFSPS Honorary Chancellors:

Joseph Auslander, John Crowe Ransom, Glenn Ward Dresbach, Jesse Stuart, Grace Noll Crowell, Jean Starr Untermeyer, Loring Williams, Harry M. Meachum, John Williams Andrews, August Derleth, William E. Stafford, N. Scott Momaday, Richard Armour, Richard Eberhart, James Dickey, Judson Jerome, John Ciardi, Robert Coles, Richard Shelton, Marcia Lee Masters, Robert Penn Warren, Richard Wilber, William E. Stafford, Rodney Jones, Tess Gallagher, Michael Bugeja, David Wagoner, Maxine Kumin, Naomi Shihab Nye, Li Young Lee, Lewis Turco, Ted Kooser, Natasha Trethewey, Peter Meinke, and Jo McDougall.

Send questions or comments about this website to NFSPS Web Master
Copyright 2000